YOU MAKE THE CALL

Below are case studies from the National Federated High School
Basketball Rule Book.

In the following examples, the nomenclature of A1l to AS is used to
indicate the five offensive players on the playing court. Bl to BS are the
defensive players.

Answers to the questions below begin on page 4.

Question 1: Al becomes confused outside the three point arc and throws the ball at the
wrong basket. The ball goes in. What is the call?

Question 2: Al becomes confused and starts to throw the ball at the wrong basket.
Before Al releases the throw B1 fouls A1. The ball goes into the basket. What is the
call?

Question 3: The score is Team A 62 and Team B 61 when the horn sounds to end the
fourth quarter. While the referee is still on the court, the coach of Team A, approaches
the referee and directs obscene gestures at the referee. Is there a call?

Question 4: With three-tenths of a second remaining in the game, A1’s throw-in is
caught by A2, who is fouled as he/she throws the ball toward his basket. The foul
occurred before the signal sounds indicating time has expired. The ball goes into the
basket. What is your call?

Question 5: With three-tenths of a second remaining in the game, A1’s throw-in is
toward the basket where A2 is jumping beside the basket and taps the ball into the
basket. B1 jumps with Al and fouls A1 as he is tapping the ball. The foul occurred
before the signal sounds indicating time has expired. The ball goes into the basket after
the signal sounds. What is your call?

Question 6: With three-tenths of a second remaining in the game, A1’s throw-in is
toward the basket where A2 is jumping beside the basket to tap the ball in, except A2
never touches the ball and the ball goes into the basket directly from A1’s throw from
out of bounds. What is your call?

Question 7: B1 jumps in front of dribbler A1 and obtains a legal guarding position with
both feet touching the court and facing A1. Dribbler A1 contact’s B1’s torso. What is
your call?



Question 8: Al is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding position.
B1 stays in the path of A1 but in doing so has one foot touching the sideline when Al
contacts B1 in the torso. What is your call?

Question 9: Al jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 obtains a legal
position in A1’s path after A1 becomes airborne. Before Al returns to the floor,
airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. What is your call?

Question 10: Al jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 obtains a legal
position in A1’s path before Al became airborne on a layup. Before returning to the
floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. The ball goes into the basket. What is your
call?

Question 11: Al jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 obtains a legal
position in A1’s path before A1l becomes airborne. Before returning to the floor,
airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. Before Al contacts B1, B2 commits basket
interference or goaltending. What is your call?

Question 12: BI is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act of shooting
an unsuccessful 2 point try. What is the penalty?

Question 13: BI is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act of shooting
a successful 2 point try. What is the penalty?

Question 14: BI is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act of shooting
an unsuccessful 3 point try. What is the penalty?

Question 15: Since there can be no rebounds on the fouls shots for intentional fouls and
technical fouls where must the other nine players be?

Question 16: Player A1l in the backcourt passes to A2 who is straddling the center court
line. B2 is closely guarding A2. A2 passes back to A1 who is still in the backcourt.
What is your call?

Question 17: Player A1 in the backcourt passes to A2 who is straddling the center court
line. A2 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt, and then starts to dribble by pushing the
ball down so that it bounces in the backcourt. What is your call?

Question 18: Al in the frontcourt passes to A2 in the frontcourt. The pass is muffed by
A2 and bounces off the official who is straddling the center court line. A2 catches the
ball in the frontcourt without the ball touching the floor at anytime. The official rules
this is a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?



Question 19: Al is in the act of shooting when B2 fouls A2 away from the ball. Al
continues the shooting motion and scores. The official disallows the basket stating
continuous motion only applies if the shooter is fouled. Is the official correct?

Question 20: Al, prior to dribbling, bounce passes the ball to A2. A2 does not see the
pass and never touches the ball. Al runs across the court and recovers the ball with
both hands after the ball has hit the floor. Al then begins a dribble. The official rules

this is an illegal dribble. Is the official correct?

Question 21: A1’s throw-in under the alternating possession procedure is caught
simultaneously by A2 and B2 causing a held ball. The official awards the ball to Team
B. Is the official correct?

Question 22: Team A has been in control of the ball for 7 seconds in the backcourt. Al
throws a pass which hits the floor in A’s front court at 9 seconds. A2 gains control at 11
seconds. The official rules this is a 10 second violation. Is the official correct?

Question 23: A throw-in by A1 strikes B1 who is inbounds and rebounds in flight
directly from B1 and then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds. Which team gets to
throw the ball inbounds?

Question 24: During an alternating possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball
through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball. What is the call?

Question 25: During an alternating possession throw-in, thrower A1’s throw-in pass is
illegally kicked by B2. The referee rules a kicking violation on B2 and awards the ball
to Team A for a throw-in. The referee also instructs the scorer to not switch the arrow.
Is the referee correct?



ANSWERS:

Question 1: Al becomes confused outside the three point arc and throws the
ball at the wrong basket. The ball goes in. What is the call?

Score 2 points for Team B. A field goal only counts for three points when it is a try toward
one’s own basket.

Question 2: A1l becomes confused and starts to throw the ball at the wrong
basket. Before A1 releases the throw B1 fouls A1. The ball goes into the
basket. What is the call?

Since the throw was not a try, the foul caused the ball to become dead immediately. The ball
entered the basket after the play was dead so no points are scored. If Team B has less than 6
Team Fouls then Team A has a throw in nearest the spot of the foul. If Team B has 7 or more
team fouls then A1 will shoot free throws.

Question 3: The score is Team A 62 and Team B 61 when the horn sounds
to end the fourth quarter. While the referee is still on the court, the coach of
Team A, approaches the referee and directs obscene gestures at the referee.
Is there a call?

A technical foul is called on Team A’s Coach. Team B will choose any team member to shoot
two foul shots. If they make both, Team B will win 63 to 62. If they make only one then an
overtime period will be played. If both shots are missed then Team A will win 62 to 61 unless
the coach has more to say to you before you leave the visual confines of the playing area.

Question 4: With three-tenths of a second remaining in the game, A1’s
throw-in 1s caught by A2, who is fouled as he/she throws the ball toward his
basket. The foul occurred before the signal sounds indicating time has
expired. The ball goes into the basket. What is your call?

The basket does not count, because you cannot have a try with three-tenths remaining.
However the foul occurred before the horn, so if Team A is in the bonus situation A2 will shoot
a l and 1 or 2 foul shots. If Team A is not in the bonus then no foul shots.

Question 5: With three-tenths of a second remaining in the game, A1’s
throw-in 1s toward the basket where A2 is jumping beside the basket and taps
the ball into the basket. B1 jumps with A1 and fouls A1 as he is tapping the
ball. The foul occurred before the signal sounds indicating time has expired.
The ball goes into the basket after the signal sounds. What is your call?
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Score two points for A. If the foul shot will make a difference in the outcome of the game or
determine if an overtime will be played then shoot the foul shot. Otherwise the game is over.

Question 6: With three-tenths of a second remaining in the game, Al’s
throw-in 1s toward the basket where A2 is jumping beside the basket to tap
the ball in, except A2 never touches the ball and the ball goes into the basket
directly from A1’s throw from out of bounds. What is your call?

No points are scored. It is a violation to throw the ball directly into the basket from out of
bounds. Since no one touched the ball the clock has not started and Team B gets the ball with
.3 on the clock at the out of bounds spot A1 threw from.

Question 7: BI1 jumps in front of dribbler Al and obtains a legal guarding
position with both feet touching the court and facing A1. Dribbler Al
contact’s B1’s torso. What is your call?

Player Control foul on Al.

Question 8: Al is dribbling near the sideline when B1 obtains legal guarding
position. BI stays in the path of Al but in doing so has one foot touching the
sideline when A1 contacts B1 in the torso. What is your call?

Blocking foul on B1 because he cannot have a legal guarding position when he is out of
bounds.

Question 9: A1l jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 obtains a
legal position in Al’s path after A1 becomes airborne. Before Al returns to
the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. What is your call?

Blocking foul on B1 since B1 did not obtain legal guarding position. If the ball went into the
basket score the basket and award one foul shot. If the ball did not enter basket award two foul
shots.

Question 10: A1l jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 obtains a
legal position in A1l’s path before A1l became airborne on a layup. Before
returning to the floor, airborne shooter A1l charges into B1. The ball goes
into the basket. What is your call?

Player control foul on A1 and no basket can be scored.



Question 11: Al jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. B1 obtains a
legal position in Al’s path before A1l becomes airborne. Before returning to
the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. Before Al contacts B1, B2
commits basket interference or goaltending. What is your call?

Both the violation (basket interference) and the player control foul are penalized. The basket
interference by B2 causes the ball to become dead immediately. The violation is penalized by
awarding two points. The player control foul on A1 is also charged. Team B will be awarded
the ball for a throw-in anywhere on the baseline.

Question 12: BI is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act
of shooting an unsuccessful 2 point try. What is the penalty?

Two foul shots plus the ball out of bounds nearest the foul.

Question 13: BI is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act
of shooting a successful 2 point try. What is the penalty?

Two foul shots plus the ball out of bounds nearest the foul.

Question 14: BI is charged with an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act
of shooting an unsuccessful 3 point try. What is the penalty?

Three foul shots plus the ball out of bounds nearest the foul.

Question 15: Since there can be no rebounds on the fouls shots for
intentional fouls and technical fouls where must the other nine players be?

The only restriction for players not lined up on the free throw lane is that they be behind the
three point arc and foul line extended.

Question 16: Player Al in the backcourt passes to A2 who is straddling the
center court line. B2 is closely guarding A2. A2 passes back to A1 who is
still in the backcourt. What is your call?

Since A2 is still in the backcourt this is legal. Continue the 10 second count.

Question 17: Player Al in the backcourt passes to A2 who is straddling the
center court line. A2 lifts the foot that is in the backcourt, and then starts to
dribble by pushing the ball down so that it bounces in the backcourt. What is
your call?



Backcourt violation, when A2 lifted his foot he obtained front court status. This would have
been legal if A2 had lifted the foot that was in the front court.

Question 18: Al in the frontcourt passes to A2 in the frontcourt. The pass is
muffed by A2 and bounces off the official who is straddling the center court
line. A2 catches the ball in the frontcourt without the ball touching the floor
at anytime. The official rules this is a backcourt violation. Is the official
correct?

Yes, the ball obtained backcourt status when it touched the official who was in the backcourt.

Question 19: Al is in the act of shooting when B2 fouls A2 away from the
ball. Al continues the shooting motion and scores. The official disallows
the basket stating continuous motion only applies if the shooter is fouled. Is
the official correct?

No.

Question 20: Al, prior to dribbling, bounce passes the ball to A2. A2 does
not see the pass and never touches the ball. Al runs across the court and
recovers the ball with both hands after the ball has hit the floor. Al then
begins a dribble. The official rules this is an illegal dribble. Is the official
correct?

Yes, the pass was in fact the start of a dribble that ended when A1 caught the ball with both
hands.

Question 21: A1’s throw-in under the alternating possession procedure is
caught simultaneously by A2 and B2 causing a held ball. The official awards
the ball to Team B. Is the official correct?

Yes. The throw-in was complete and the arrow moved to Team B, then the jump ball.

Question 22: Team A has been in control of the ball for 7 seconds in the
backcourt. Al throws a pass which hits the floor in A’s front court at 9
seconds. A2 gains control at 11 seconds. The official rules this is a 10
second violation. Is the official correct?

No, the ball obtained front court status when it touched the frontcourt at 9 seconds.
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Question 23: A throw-in by A1 strikes B1 who is inbounds and rebounds in
flight directly from B1 and then strikes A1 who is still out of bounds. Which
team gets to throw the ball inbounds?

Al caused the ball to go out of bounds. Team B’s ball.

Question 24: During an alternating possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds
the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball.
What is the call?

Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A’s ball for an alternating
possession throw-in.

Question 25: During an alternating possession throw-in, thrower A1’s
throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. The referee rules a kicking violation
on B2 and awards the ball to Team A for a throw-in. The referee also
instructs the scorer to not switch the arrow. Is the referee correct?

Yes, since the alternating throw-in was not completed the arrow is not switched.



