September 29, 2003 - Vol. 14, No. 52

 News That Concerns Kiwanians and Their Families


Paul Cotton

Senior Members
Ed Chertok, Peter Karagianis, Bob Turner, Howard Bacon, Dennis Denoncourt, Roger Ballantyne, Ed Merski, Carroll Stafford, Paul Normandin

Our Seniorest Member Peter Karagianis and wife Lydia

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Installation 2003
Master of Ceremonies Phil Bonafide called upon Pres. Larry Murphy to open his final meeting which he did. Past Pres. Joe Adrignola presented the Objects of Kiwanis. MC Bonafide introduced notable guests: Lt. Gov. Dan Witham, Div. 6, of the Seacoast club; Pres. Larry and Rosemary Murphy; Pres.-Elect Warren and Janet Mitchell; himself and Jackie Bonafide; Jennifer Mitchell and sister Carrington with her husband Jeffrey and two oldest children Brooke and Ben; Key Club Advisor Sam Dixon and three Key Clubbers; Past Presidents Joe Adrignola, Howard Bacon, Roger Ballantyne, Phil Bonafide, Chet Cilley, Paul Cotton, Dennis Denoncourt, Jim Fortier, Paul Normandin, Don Nelson, Bob Turner, Nancy Williams, Dick Breton, and Max Wakeman; Honorary Members Max Wakeman and Bill Patterson; and guests from Community Health and Hospice, Laconia Library, and Lakes Region Day Care Center.

Head Table: Immediate Past Pres. Phil and Jackie Bonafide; Pres. Larry and Rosemary Murphy; Lt. Gov. Dan Witham; and Janet and V.P. Warren Mitchell

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Past Pres. Joe Adrignola introduces some of our guests.

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Lt. Gov. Dan Witham, Div. 6, from the Seacoast club

Photo by W.S. Loughlin



Key Club Advisor Sam Dixon, Key Clubbers, and Chair Jim Fortier

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Another set of Mitchells: the Piersons

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Past Pres. Dick Breton drops in from the Southern Carroll County club.

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


After Dinner
Pres. Larry Murphy recognized retiring Directors Paul Cotton, Jim Fortier, Nancy Parrott, and Dianne Roberts; Immediate Past Pres. Phil Bonafide; Treas. Chet Cilley; First V.P. Warren Mitchell; and Second V.P. Paul Cotton for their service to the club. Lt. Gov. Dan Witham discharged these outgoing officers and directors. Pres.-Elect Warren Mitchell presented Pres. Larry Murphy with his President's plaque and pin. Pres. Larry Murphy makes his farewell remarks.

Pres. Larry Murphy gets pinned by wife Rosemary and Pres.-Elect Warren Mitchell

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Pres. Larry Murphy's finally makes it onto the Past Presidents plaque.

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Attendance Champs
Sec.'y Kathy Calvin presented Legion of Honor certificates to Roger Ballantyne, Ed Chertok, Ed Merski, Steve Loughlin, and Warren Mitchell for 25 years of membership; Paul Normandin, Carroll Stafford, and Robert Turner for 35 years; and Howard Bacon for 50 years. She then gave attendance tabs to Larry Murphy (1 year), Kathy Calvin (6), Phil Bonafide (7), Nancy Williams (10), Jim Fortier (19), and Bob Turner (32!).

And Steve Loughlin must be the youngest Legionnaire of Honor.

Photo by Scott Beane


Roberts Award
Immediate Past Kiwanian of the Year Don Nelson explained the significance of the Ned Roberts Award and recognized past award winners in attendance: Bob Turner, Roger Ballantyne, Jim Fortier, Warren Mitchell, Paul Cotton, Kathy Calvin, Nancy Parrott, and Nancy Williams. he then announced that this year's winner is Past Pres. Joe Adrignola.

Immediate Past Kiwanian of the Year Don Nelson presents the gorgeous trophy to our latest Ned Roberts Award winner, Past Pres. Joe Adrignola.

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Installation Required
Lt. Gov. Dan Witham installed new directors Russ Beane, Phil Bonafide, Dianne Roberts, and Nancy Williams; Treas. Chet Cilley; First V.P. Paul Cotton; and Pres. Warren Mitchell. Pres. Mitchell discharges Pres. Larry Murphy and accepts the gavel and club charter from him. He makes special recognition of Michael Bastraw, Kathy Calvin, and Chet Cilley and acknowledges Contigiani's Catering, Lt. Gov. Dan Witham, and all the presenters. Charlie Stafford and Jeff Pierson then presented Pres. Warren Mitchell a Hixson Fellowship for a $1000 donation they made in his name to Kiwanis International. Past Pres. Nancy Williams read the closing prayer and Pres. Warren Mitchell adjourned the meeting.

From behind the sofa: Immediate Past Pres. Larry Murphy presents Pres. Warren Mitchell with our club charter.

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Pres. Warren Mitchell is presented the Hixson Fellowship by Treas. Chet Cilley and donors Charlie Stafford and jeff Pierson.

Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Monday, October 20

Monday, October 13
Sr. Member Ed Chertok will be the guest speaker.

Monday, October 6
Boards meet, NISE


Photo by W.S. Loughlin


Michael Bastraw

Kiwanis Kronikle is a weekly publication of the Kiwanis Club of Laconia, N.H., P.O. Box 757, Laconia, N.H. 03247-0757. We meet Mondays at 6:15 p.m. at the Pheasant Ridge Country Club, Country Club Rd., Gilford, N.H. Please call your President or Secretary about any Member or family member in case of illness. Email: Michael Bastraw or Steve Loughlin

Back Issues - Membership - Bylaws



In Memory of Max Chertok, Charter Member - Normandin, Cheney, & O'Neil - Byse Agency - Baron's Major Brands - Wilkinson-Beane Funeral Home - Decorative Interiors - Laconia Savings Bank - Meredith Village Savings Bank - Martin, Lord & Osman, P.A. - The Village Bank - Hart's Turkey Farm Restaurant - Quik Laundry & Cleaners - Stafford Oil Company, Inc. - The Home Beautiful - Cantin Chevrolet/Mitsubishi


Contact Webmaster at Mac'N Mike